Directory

Ali Reza Abasi علیرضا عباسی
Associate Professor, Persian
HJ Patterson 3112
aabasi@umd.edu
Ana Isabel Acedo Garcia
Senior Lecturer, Spanish and Portuguese
Jimenez Hall 2225
aacedo@umd.edu
Jorge Aguilar-Mora
Professor Emeritus, Spanish and Portuguese
Jimenez Hall 2215
jorgeam@umd.edu
Nahal Akbari-Saneh
Assistant Clinical Professor, Director, Persian Flagship
Kumiko Akikawa / 秋川久美子
Senior Lecturer, Japanese
Jimenez Hall 4218
Mon: 2:00 PM-3:00 PM
Wed: 2:00 PM-3:00 PM
kakikawa@umd.edu
Lutf Y. Alkebsi
Senior lecturer , Arabic
H.J. Patterson 3136
lalkebsi@umd.edu
Stefania R. Amodeo
Distinguished Senior Lecturer, Italian
Jimenez Hall 4109
zena@umd.edu
Valerie Anishchenkova
Associate Professor, Arabic
H.J. Patterson 3130
vani@umd.edu
Luka Arsenjuk
Associate Professor, Film Studies
Jimenez 4120
arsenjuk@umd.edu
Hester Baer
Associate Professor and Department Head, Germanic Studies
Jimenez Hall 3225
hbaer@umd.edu
Mercedes Baillargeon
Assistant Professor, French
Jiménez 3016B
baillarg@umd.edu
Peter U. Beicken
Professor, Germanic Studies
Jimenez Hall 3207
beic@umd.edu
Sarah Benharrech
Associate Professor, French
Jimenez Hall 3125
sbenharr@umd.edu
Carmen Benito-Vessels
Professor, Spanish and Portuguese
Jimenez Hall 2215A
cbenito@umd.edu
Lianne Berne
Program Coordinator, Arabic Flagship
H.J. Patterson 3128
lberne@umd.edu
Joseph Brami
Professor, French
Jimenez Hall 3106 E
jbrami@umd.edu
Janel Brennan-Tillmann
Academic Technologist, Instructional Designer, School of Languages, Literatures, and Cultures
Jiménez Hall 1202A
brennanj@umd.edu
Chanel Briscoe
Coordinator, School of Languages, Literatures, and Cultures
Jimenez Hall 1105
chanel@umd.edu
Herve T. Campangne
Professor, French
Jimenez Hall 3106E
hcampang@umd.edu
Evelyn Canabal-Torres
Principal Lecturer, Spanish and Portuguese
Jimenez Hall 2215H
ecanabal@umd.edu
Erica Maria Cefalo
Lecturer, French
Jimenez Hall 3106G
emcefalo@umd.edu
Josiland Chambers
Graduate Coordinator, School of Languages, Literatures, and Cultures
Jimenez Hall 1104
jchamb@umd.edu
Lauretta Clough
Associate Director, School of Languages, Literatures, and Cultures
Jimenez Hall 1105D
lcclough@umd.edu
Nicholas Cooper
Facilities Services Specialist, School of Languages, Literatures, and Cultures
Jimenez Hall 3215C
ncooper@umd.edu
Sandra M. Cypess
Professor Emerita, Spanish and Portuguese
Jimenez Hall 2215 J
smcypess@umd.edu
Robert M. De Keyser
Professor, Second Language Acquisition
Jimenez Hall 3104
rdk@umd.edu
Hernan S. M. De Pinillos
Associate Professor, Spanish and Portuguese
Jimenez Hall 2215G
hsmdp@umd.edu
Robert Del Greco
Lecturer and Minor Advisor, Japanese
Jimenez Hall 4122
Mon: 2:00 PM-3:00 PM
Wed: 2:00 PM-3:00 PM
delgreco@umd.edu
Laura Demaria
Professor, Spanish and Portuguese
Jimenez Hall 2215B
ldemaria@umd.edu
Catherine J. Doughty
Romance Languages, Foreign Service Institute, U.S. Department of State, Division Director, Second Language Acquisition
Caroline Eades
Associate Professor, French
Jimenez Hall 4210
ceades@umd.edu
Zein El-Amine
Senior Lecturer, Arabic
H. J. Patterson 3141
Mon: 1:00 PM-2:30 PM
Thu: 12:00 AM-1:00 PM
zelamine@umd.edu
Dina A El-Hefnawy
Senior Lecturer, Arabic
H.J.Patterson 3138
Wed: 12:00 PM-1:00 PM
Fri: 3:00 PM-4:00 PM
hefnawy@umd.edu
Ginette Alomar Eldredge
Lecturer, Spanish and Portuguese
Jimenez Hall 2224
geldredg@umd.edu
Sayed A Elsisi
Assistant Professor, Arabic
Jimenez Hall 4122
sayed@umd.edu
Fabián Faccio
Lecturer, Spanish and Portuguese
Jimenez Hall 3121
fabian@umd.edu
Joseph D. Falvo
Program Director and Associate Professor, Italian
Jimenez Hall 3103
gfalvo@umd.edu
Elke P. Frederiksen
Professor Emerita, Germanic Studies
Andrea Marie Frisch
Professor, French
Jimenez Hall 3106F
afrisch@umd.edu
Aharona Gazit-Rosenthal
Lecturer, Hebrew
Jimenez Hall 4105
arosent1@umd.edu
Zhanna R. Gerus-Vernola
Maya Brin Distinguished Lecturer, Maya Brin Residency Program, UG Advisor, Russian
Jimenez Hall 4124
vernola@umd.edu
Elisa Gironzetti
Assistant Professor, Spanish and Portuguese
Jiménez Hall 2204
Mon: 2:00 PM-3:00 PM
Wed: 2:00 PM-3:00 PM
elisag@umd.edu
Peter Glanville
Program Director and Assistant Professor, Arabic
HJP 3126
pjg347@umd.edu
Douglas Michael Glynn
Lecturer, Spanish and Portuguese
Jimenez Hall 3121
dglynn@umd.edu
Kira Gor
Associate Professor, Second Language Acquisition
Jimenez Hall 2106E
kiragor@umd.edu
Satoru Hashimoto / 橋本悟
Assistant Professor, Chinese
Jimenez Hall 2106F
shashim@umd.edu
Chila Pertuz-Hidalgo
Senior Lecturer, Spanish and Portuguese
Jimenez Hall 2203
chidalgo@umd.edu
Guiling Hu / 胡瑰玲 (Chinese adviser)
Senior Lecturer and Advisor, Chinese
Jimenez Hall 4223
Mon: 12:00 PM-1:00 PM
Wed: 12:00 PM-1:00 PM
Fri: 12:00 PM-1:00 PM
ghu@umd.edu
Regina Ianozi
Assistant Clinical Professor and TA Coordinator/UG Advisor, Germanic Studies
Jimenez Hall 3224
Mon: 12:00 PM-1:00 PM
Wed: 1:00 PM-2:00 PM
ianozi@umd.edu
Regina Igel
Professor, Spanish and Portuguese
Jimenez Hall 3123
ri@umd.edu
Makiko Inoue / 井上牧子
Senior Lecturer and Major advisor, Japanese
Jimenez Hall 4218
Mon: 3:15 PM-4:00 PM
Wed: 3:15 PM-4:00 PM
Fri: 3:15 PM-4:00 PM
minoue@umd.edu
Nan Jiang
Professor, Second Language Acquisition
Jimenez Hall 4117
njiang@umd.edu
Avital Karpman
Associate Clinical Professor of Hebrew, Program Director, Hebrew
Jimenez 4105
akarpman@umd.edu
Ahmet T. Karamustafa
Associate Director for Academic Affairs, Roshan Institute for Persian Studies
Francis Scott Key Hall 2101P
akaramus@umd.edu
Fatemeh Keshavarz
Director, School of Languages Literatures and Cultures and Professor, Roshan Institute for Persian Studies
Jimenez Hall 1105C
fkk@umd.edu
Seong Minne Koh / 고성민
Lecturer, Korean
Jimenez Hall 4218
skoh@umd.edu
Mei Kong / 孔玫
Senior Lecturer, Chinese
Jimenez Hall 4223
kongmei@umd.edu
Julie Koser
Associate Professor; UG Program Director, Germanic Studies
Jimenez Hall 3210
Tue: 3:30 PM-4:30 PM
Thu: 3:30 PM-4:30 PM
jkoser@umd.edu
Manel Lacorte
Associate Professor, Spanish and Portuguese
Jimenez Hall 2202
mlacorte@umd.edu
Amelia Lambelet
Visiting scholar, School of Languages, Literatures, and Cultures
Jimenez Hall 3215
lambelet@umd.edu
Roberta Z. Lavine
Professor Emerita, Spanish and Portuguese
Jimenez Hall 2215
rlavine@umd.edu
Jungjung Lee-Heitz / 李蓉蓉
Senior Lecturer, Chinese
Jimenez Hall 4223
Tue: 3:30 PM-4:00 PM
Thu: 3:30 PM-4:00 PM
leeheitz@umd.edu
M. Christopher Lewis
Lecturer and UG Advisor, Spanish and Portuguese
Jimenez Hall 2224
mclewis@umd.edu
Thayse Leal Lima
Assistant Professor, Spanish and Portuguese
Jimenez Hall 2210
tlima@umd.edu
Phoenix F. Liu
Director, Language House
St. Mary's Hall 0107A
phoenixl@umd.edu
Michael H Long
Professor, Second Language Acquisition
Jimenez Hall 3124
mlong5@umd.edu
Ryan Long
Associate Professor, Spanish and Portuguese
Jimenez Hall 2215 C
rlong12@umd.edu
Elena Lozinsky
Lecturer, Russian
Jimenez Hall 4105
elozinsk@umd.edu
José L Magro
Lecturer, Spanish and Portuguese
Jimenez Hall 3121
magro@umd.edu
Cynthia L. Martin
Associate Professor and Department Head, Russian
Jimenez Hall 2106B
cmartin@umd.edu
Michele Mason / ミッシェル•メイソン (Pronouns: she, her, hers)
Associate Professor and Department Head, East Asian Languages and Cultures
Jimenez Hall 4224
Tue: 10:00 AM-11:00 AM
Thu: 10:00 AM-11:00 AM
mmmason@umd.edu
Jeffrey Maurer
Multimedia Coordinator, Web Administrator, and SLLC Gallery Curator, School of Languages, Literatures, and Cultures
Jimenez Hall 1202
maurerj@umd.edu
Ida Meftahi
Visiting Assistant Professor of Contemporary Iranian Culture and Society, Persian
Jimenez Hall 1220 B
imeftahi@umd.edu
Eyda M. Merediz
Associate Professor and Department Head, Spanish and Portuguese
Jimenez Hall 2215D
emerediz@umd.edu
Matthew Thomas Miller
Associate Director, Roshan Initiative in Persian Digital Humanities (PersDig@UMD); Assistant Professor , Persian
Jimenez 3125
mtmiller@umd.edu
Sussan Moinfar
Roshan Institute Lecturer in Persian Studies, Associate Director in Cultural Programming and Development, Persian
JMZ 1220D
smoinfar@umd.edu
Carol A. Mossman
Professor, French
Jimenez Hall 3102
cmossman@umd.edu
Alene Moyer
Professor, Germanic Studies
Jimenez 3211
moyera@umd.edu
Jose M. Naharro-Calderon
Professor, Spanish and Portuguese
Jimenez Hall 2102
jmn@umd.edu
Graciela P. Nemes
Professor Emerita, Spanish and Portuguese
Carla Oñate
Senior Lecturer, Spanish and Portuguese
Jimenez Hall 2203
carlapat@umd.edu
Valerie K. Orlando
Professor and Department Head, French
Jimenez Hall 3106 C
vorlando@umd.edu
Rose-Marie G. Oster
Professor Emerita, Germanic Studies
Elizabeth A. Papazian
Associate Professor, Russian
Jimenez Hall 4123
papazian@umd.edu
Janny Peng
Assistant Director for Finance and Administration, School of Languages, Literatures, and Cultures
Jimenez 3215F
jpeng@umd.edu
Mehl A. Penrose
Associate Director for Academic Affairs (SLLC) and Associate Professor of Spanish, Spanish and Portuguese
Jimenez Hall 1105B
mpenrose@umd.edu
Guenter G. Pfister
Professor Emeritus, Germanic Studies
Juan Carlos Quintero-Herencia
Professor of Caribbean and Latin American Literature, Spanish and Portuguese
Jiménez Hall 2215-I
jcquinte@umd.edu
Samuel Robert Ramsey / 로버트 램지
Professor and Advisor, Korean
Jimenez Hall 2215J
Tue: 1:30 PM-2:30 PM
Thu: 1:30 PM-2:30 PM
ramsey@umd.edu
Younghi K. Ramsey / 영희 램지
Senior Lecturer, Korean
Jimenez Hall 2106G
ykr@umd.edu
Mauro Resmini
Assistant Professor: Film Studies, Italian
Jimenez Hall 4103
mresmini@umd.edu
Ana Patricia Rodriguez
Associate Professor, Spanish and Portuguese
Jimenez Hall 2215E
Tue: 12:30 PM-2:00 PM
Wed: 11:00 AM-12:00 PM
Thu: 12:30 PM-2:00 PM
aprodrig@umd.edu
Steven J Ross
Professor and Director, Second Language Acquisition
Jimenez Hall 2103
sross@umd.edu
Charles C. Russell
Professor Emeritus, Italian
Jimenez Hall 3106
ccr@umd.edu
Andrew Schonebaum / 宋安德
Associate Professor, Chinese
Jimenez Hall 4104
Tue: 11:00 AM-12:30 PM
Thu: 11:00 AM-12:30 PM
schone@umd.edu
Mary Ellen Scullen
Associate Professor, French
Jimenez Hall 3106D
mscullen@umd.edu
Anastasia Selemeneva
Assistant Research Professor, Russian
Jimenez Hall 2106A
aselemen@umd.edu
Saúl Sosnowski
Professor, Spanish and Portuguese
Jimenez Hall 4202
sosnowsk@umd.edu
Gabriele L. Strauch
Associate Professor Emerita, Germanic Studies
Xing (Amy) Struck
Travel and Procurement Services , School of Languages, Literatures, and Cultures
Jimenez Hall 3215G
xstruck@umd.edu
Yuk Fan (Charlotte) Tai
Business Manager, School of Languages, Literatures, and Cultures
Jimenez Hall 3215E
ytai@umd.edu
Pierre M. Verdaguer
Professor Emeritus, French
Jimenez Hall 3106 E
verdague@umd.edu
Richard Ernest Walker
Associate Professor Emeritus, Germanic Studies
Yuli Wang
Lecturer, Chinese
Jimenez Hall 4223
ywang26@umd.edu
Hannah Katherine Wegmann
TA Coordinator, French
Jimenez Hall 3106F
Mon: 2:00 PM-3:00 PM
Wed: 2:00 PM-3:00 PM
hkstone@umd.edu
Etsuko Yamakita / 山北英津子
Senior Lecturer, Japanese
Jimenez Hall 4218
Mon: 3:00 PM-4:00 PM
Wed: 3:00 PM-4:00 PM
yamakita@umd.edu
Lindsay A. Yotsukura / リンゼー四倉
Associate Professor and Program Director, Japanese; Director, Center for East Asian Studies
Jimenez Hall 2106D
Tue: 2:00 PM-3:00 PM
Thu: 2:00 PM-3:00 PM
ly@umd.edu
Eric Zakim
Associate Professor and Program Director , Film Studies
Jimenez Hall 4225
zakim@umd.edu
Minglang Zhou / 周明朗
Associate Professor and Program Director , Chinese
Jimenez Hall 2106C
mlzhou@umd.edu