SLLC Annual Awards Ceremony and Honor Society Inductions

Printer-friendly version

The School of Languages, Literatures, and Cultures held its annual Awards Ceremony and Honor Society Inductions on May 2, 2018. Dr. Mehl Penrose, the School's Associate Director for Academic Affairs and Associate Professor of Spanish, greeted the audience and gave the introductions. Ms. Stefania Amodeo, Distinguished Senior Lecturer of Italian, gave the opening remarks and Ms. Ana Acedo, Senior Lecturer of Spanish, served as the ceremony's MC. The  presenters of the individual program awards were Dr. Phoenix Liu (Language House), Dr. Mercédès Baillargeon (FREN), Dr. Erica Cefalo (FREN), Ms. Stefania Amodeo (ITAL), Dr. Giuseppe Falvo (ITAL), Dr. Anastasia Selemeneva (RUSS), Dr. Regina Ianozi (GERM), Ms. Maria Sitzler-Sawicki (GERM), Dr. Lindsay Yotsukura (JAPN), Dr. Minglang Zhou (CHIN), Dr. Ali Abasi (PERS), Ms. Ana Acedo (SPAN), and Dr. Mehl Penrose (SPAN). In all, almost 50 undergraduate students from SLLC were awarded scholarships for their hard work and dedication to their studies. 

In addition to the awards, Delta Phi Alpha (German National Honor Society), Dobro Slovo (National Slavic Honor Society), the Japanese National Honor Society, and Sigma Delta Pi (National Collegiate Hispanic Honor Society), inducted 50 new members into their societies. Dr. Regina Ianozi and Ms. Maria Sitzler-Sawicki inducted the new members of Delta Phi Alpha, Dr. Lindsay Yotsukura inducted the new members of the Japanese National Honor Society, Dr. Anastasia Selemeneva inducted the new members of Dobro Slovo, and Ms. Ana Acedo and Ms. Jessica L. Stimely inducted the new members of Sigma Delta Pi.

Congratulations to the award winners and the new honor society members! 

More Photos from the Ceremony